vermont marijuana laws growing

Penalties for driving under the influence of marjjuana are as follows:

Vermont Gov. Phil Scott signed adult-use legalization (known as H.511) into law on January 22, 2018. Scott admitted he had “mixed feelings” about legalization, but said “what adults do behind closed doors and on private property is their choice, so long as it does not negatively impact the health and safety of others, especially children.”

Additional laws include:

You can get more information on the Vermont DPS’s Registration Packet Page.

Is information submitted to the VMR confidential?

Vermont public consumption laws.

You’ll need to complete a Change of Information form and submit a $25 fee. The VMR usually issues a new registry identification card within 10 days of receiving the form and fee. You can only change your designated dispensary once in any 30-day period.

The industry is largely self-policed in Vermont. Licensed dispensaries are required to establish testing protocols and make associated data available to the state for review.

As of September 2020, legislators in Vermont’s House and Senate were said to be very close to a deal on a retail marijuana bill that would allow commercial sales to finally begin.

Medical marijuana was first legalized in Vermont in 2004 without establishing a framework for sales. The state passed legislation to allow dispensaries to sell cannabis products in 2011.

For a complete list of qualifying conditions and guidelines, please refer to the Vermont Department of Public Safety’s Marijuana Registry page.

Vermont became America’s first state to legalize the adult use of cannabis via the state legislature in 2018—previous legal states had all done it via a statewide ballot initiative.

The VMR must approve or deny an application in writing within 30 days of receipt of a completed application.

Patients may also qualify if they have a disease or medical condition (or the treatment thereof) that is chronic, debilitating, and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms:

Adults over the age of 21 are permitted to grow up to 2 mature plants, and up to 4 immature plants (without flowers or buds). Those limits apply even in shared dwellings, such as among roommates or family members.

Even in states where marijuana use is permitted, it is illegal to drive while under the influence. Any person who drives in Vermont is implied to have given consent to submit to a chemical test of their breath, and a refusal to submit to a test will result in a license revocation for six months and possible prosecution by the state.

Vermont medical marijuana laws.

Yes. It’s considered protected like any medical record. Your medical information is not part of the National Instance Criminal Background Check System.

How much cannabis can I legally possess in Vermont?

Vermont residents should consult a healthcare professional to see if they qualify to receive a medical marijuana card. Those who do must go to the Vermont Medical Registry (VMR) website for the patient registration packet.

Plants must be in an enclosure shielded from public view or access, and inaccessible to anyone under 21.

Vermont requires patients to prove, via a doctor’s diagnosis, that they have one of the conditions listed below in order to qualify for a medical card:

What are the Vermont medical program’s qualifying conditions?

On Sept. 22, 2020, the Vermont legislature passed a new law regarding marijuana sales, record expungement, and possession limits. If Gov. Phil Scott signs it, that law will take effect on Jan. 1, 2021. Retail sales are expected to start on May 1, 2022. Read about the coming changes to Vermont’s marijuana laws here.

Vermont marijuana growing laws.

Can I buy cannabis at a Vermont dispensary if I am visiting from out of the state or out of the country?

Patients who have been issued medical cards must renew every year with the VMR. Renewal forms are available on the VMR website and must be mailed along with a $50 fee between 30 and 90 days before the card’s expiration date.

The problem with Vermont’s 2018 legalization law is that it allows adults to legally possess a certain amount of cannabis but not to legally purchase it. So consumers have been left to either grow and cure their own cannabis plants—which is quite easy: check out Leafly’s many guides to show you how—or obtain it on the illicit market, or to make it appear through some sort of wizardly magic.

It’s not yet legal to sell marijuana in Vermont, though, as the state has taken a long time to pass a law that would allow the licensing of legal cultivation, processing, and retail sales.

How do I change my designated dispensary in Vermont?

It is legal to use cannabis on private property, but the law prohibits smoking, consuming, or vaping cannabis in public places such as sidewalks, parks, or establishments. And smoking cannabis or cannabis products is prohibited in places where it is illegal to smoke tobacco. Property owners and landlords can ban the possession and use of cannabis on their properties. Employers can ban possession and use at the workplace.

Patients may also qualify if they have a disease or medical condition (or the treatment thereof) that is chronic, debilitating, and produces one or more of the following intractable symptoms:

Cannabis became legal for all adults statewide in 2018, but there are still advantages to registering as a medical marijuana patient in Vermont. Registered patients may possess more cannabis than those not holding medical cards: up to 2 ounces of usable marijuana, 2 mature marijuana plants, and 7 immature marijuana plants (for a total of 9 plants).

The Department of Public Safety’s Vermont Marijuana Registry (VMR) is responsible for issuing medical cannabis cards to Vermont patients with qualifying conditions and making sure registered dispensaries are compliant with state laws. S. 54 required that control move to the CCB on March 1, 2022.

Other requirements include:

Medical marijuana card holders can find licensed dispensaries in Vermont and search by cities including Burlington, Montpelier, and Plattsburgh. Many dispensaries in Vermont offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.

Finding licensed dispensaries in Vermont.

Cannabis cannot be consumed outside of a private space or within public view. The governor’s Marijuana Advisory Commission is recommending that Vermont’s smoke-free laws extend to cannabis. Consumption in a public place can result in a $100 fine for the first offense.

State-sanctioned dispensaries will only sell cannabis to Vermont residents with VMR ID cards. Vermont’s program does not accommodate out-of-state patients.

To register for a card, patients need to submit a completed application to the Vermont Marijuana Registry along with the following:

A registered medical marijuana patient and caregiver can collectively possess up to 2 ounces (57 grams) of marijuana, two mature marijuana plants, and seven immature cannabis plants. Marijuana harvested from home cultivation does not count towards the 1 ounce total. Patients may only transport cannabis if the product is in a locked container out of public view.

Patients with a qualifying condition need to visit the VMR to obtain a registry ID card .

Yes, both adult-use and medical marijuana are legal in Vermont, though recreational sales are not yet operational.

Reciprocity.

A patient can assign a caregiver to buy and deliver medical cannabis if the patient is unable to obtain marijuana on his or her own. Delivery services are also available.

Driving under the influence of marijuana carries severe penalties. First-time offenders could face up to two years in prison and a $750 fine. Those with more than four convictions could face a decade in prison and $5,000 in fines. Consuming cannabis while driving, which extends to second-hand smoke if anyone in the car is smoking, can result in a $500 fine, even for registered patients. An open container of marijuana in a car can result in a $200 fine.

Vermont legalized marijuana for medicinal use in 2004 when the state legislature passed S 76, An Act Relating to the Medical Use of Marijuana . The governor didn’t sign it, but the bill passed anyway, removing legal possession and cultivation penalties for patients and setting up the Vermont Marijuana Registry. In the intervening years, additional bills have expanded the list of qualifying conditions and the types of healthcare professionals allowed to recommend marijuana for their patients.

Patients can only buy from their designated dispensary. They are limited to one chosen dispensary at a time and can only change the designation once every 30 days for a $25 fee.

Medical marijuana registry.

To obtain a medical card, caregivers must complete the caregiver portion of a patient application to the VMR. Or they can submit a Registered Caregiver Application if a previously registered patient is assigning a caregiver.

Registered patients and caregivers with medical marijuana cards can buy cannabis from one of the dispensaries sanctioned by the VMR . Medical sales are tax-exempt. THC limits imposed on recreational cannabis do not apply to medical marijuana.

In January 2018, Gov. Phil Scott signed H. 511 , eliminating penalties for possessing small amounts of marijuana for adults 21 years of age and older. The law, which became Act 86, legalized up to 1 ounce (28 grams), two mature plants, and four immature plants for each adult.

Once recreational cannabis retail outlets open (it’s planned for 2022) adults over 21 will be able to purchase cannabis in Vermont. They will be limited to flower that doesn’t have more than 30% THC and concentrates with no more than 60% THC. Edibles can have up to 50 milligrams of THC with servings of no more than 5 milligrams of THC each. Unflavored vape pen cartridges are the only oil allowed.

Adults 21 and older who are not patients can possess up to 1 ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or 5 grams of hashish, and grow a maximum of two mature marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants. Marijuana harvested from home cultivation does not count towards the 1 ounce total.

There is a nuance about gifting worth checking out below, though.

On July 1, Vermont’s Act 86 makes it legal for adults 21+ to possess an ounce of marijuana and cultivate a small number of marijuana plants under state law.

Depends. If you have a condo board or governing body for your building, you should check to see if there are building-specific rules.

Be prepared for a civil penalty on this one if you break the new rules: It’s a fine of up to $100 your first time, $200 your second and $500 for all further offenses.

I’m not familiar with any cannabis laws, so if a friend in another legal state wanted to send me edibles/oils/etc., could they do so?

Can my friend store and grow my two plants on my behalf? Could they perform this service for several people?

What about the possession of alternate forms of cannabis, i.e. tinctures, edibles, concentrates? [Will those be] legal to possess?

Just make sure to never leave the house with more than an ounce and you’re complying with the new law.

The one thing to be sure to avoid is allowing people under 21 to gain access: It’s a criminal act to dispense or enable a person under 21 access to marijuana in the state of Vermont under Act 86 — regardless of if you’re selling or gifting. Penalties can be as steep as five years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.

You CANNOT use marijuana:

The bill isn’t clear. The goal is to avoid having people under 21 gain access to the plants (or to your harvested marijuana). So on a personal level, whatever you can do to secure your plants is a step in the right direction.

If you’re not growing your own: You’re not allowed to possess more than 1 ounce of marijuana or 5 grams of hashish.

On page one it notes: “knowingly and unlawfully selling marijuana remains a criminal offense under 18 V.S.A § 4230(b)”

Can you smoke in public places?

If I grow the four plants, then the harvest will be over 1 ounce for legal possession. How is one to grow, harvest and store the crop legally?

The Governor’s Marijuana Advisory Commission is expected to report on a system for Vermont to legalize and license the marijuana market by Dec. 15, 2018.

This is a statewide issue that will likely get taken to the state Supreme Court and hammered out. Stay tuned. Until then, keep those under 21 away from plants.

According to Adam Silverman, public information officer for the Vermont State Police, “currently the state forensic lab lacks the technical capability to perform that type of analysis.”

Are there limits? Can I make [them] at home, sell or purchase?

Marijuana is still illegal at a federal level so getting things sent to you from out of state or via the USPS is a violation of federal law.

What exactly is a “dwelling unit”? According to Act 86, a “dwelling unit” is “a building or the part of a building that is used as a primary home, residence, or sleeping place by one or more persons who maintain a household.”