The “Placard” which accompanies the card for the person responsible for the grow site must be displayed at the garden. If the patient changes either the caregiver or the grower, the you must return the old caregiver or grower cards and placard to the OMMP.
If a person was only convicted once of a Class A or Class B felony for the manufacturer or delivery of a controlled substance in a Schedule I or II, then he may grow five years from the date of conviction. If he was convicted more than once, he may not grow.
There is no master list of growers available at this time. We recommend that you network with other patients and medical marijuana businesses to find a grower. You can also use social networking sites and online forums to find growers.
After you visit our clinic and mail in your state application, you can legally grow marijuana within the designated limits. You will need to make copies of your state application, attending physician statement, check or money order payable to OHA/OMMP, and your certified mail receipt. All of these documents combined will act as your temporary card. It is advised that you post this material at your grow site. in approximately 2 to 4 weeks, you will be issued a grower registration card which will need to be posted at the grow site as well.
A grower is a person designated by a registered patient to cultivate marijuana for the patient. A grower offers lower prices than what dispensaries offer and can sometimes offer up to one ounce of marijuana for free every month. Growers may produce and provide marijuana to a patient or a patient’s designated primary caregiver as authorized under the law.
If the patient changes the caregiver or the grower site, the patient must inform them that you that you being replaced. Once the change has been made, you will be subject to arrest and prosecution because you lose protection from these possibilities.
The property owner has no obligation to permit you to grow on his property. Your recommendation to use Medical Marijuana does not constitute a medical order. Therefore, he can choose to prohibit you from growing there or even from smoking inside your own house, if your lease says that you cannot smoke inside.
A grower can only be a designated grower for a total of four (4) patients.
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act (OMMA) does not address this issue. You may wish to contact an attorney to discuss your options.
The card does not grant you special permission or protection with regard to landlords, leasing, etc.
If you would like to read about all of the specific changes to the Oregon medical marijuana program as of March 1, 2016, click here.
You and your grower can decide upon this. We recommend that you work it out in writing before submitting your card application to the state.
To remove a grower from your state registration, you will need to complete a change order form. This form can be obtained on the state of Oregon OMMP website. There is a $100 fee. It is your responsibility to inform your previous grower that they are no longer protected; the state does not issue updates. Once your change order form has been processed, the OMMP will send you a new grower registration card.
As a patient or registered grower, you can grow.
Questions about “growing” from our FAQ.
A grower can only be designated to grow for a total of four (4) patients.
To register a grow site, you will need to either list your own name or another individual’s name/grow site address on the OMMP application form. A grow site registration fee of $50 will be required in addition to the application fee.
These plants will need to be grown at a registered growth site.
No, if you plan to obtain your medicine at a licensed Oregon facility only, then you do not need to list a grower/grow site address on your application.
A grower is a person who is registered with the state of Oregon to grow marijuana for a state-licensed patient. The only way to become a grower is to have a patient designate you on their state application and to be approved by the state of Oregon. This will require an additional registration fee and background check. Once approved, you will be issued a grower registration card.
The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act does not protect cardholders from federal government prosecution. Medicine must be provided to the patient for “no consideration” which means no money or anything of value may be charged. A registered ID cardholder or the designated primary caregiver of the cardholder may reimburse the person responsible for the marijuana grow site for the cost of supplies and utilities associated with the production of marijuana.
Remember you can also grow for yourself.
You must grower have a patient designate you on his state application and be approved by the state of Oregon. This will require an additional registration fee and a background check. Once approved, you will be issued a grower registration card.
Yes, if you are growing your own medical marijuana or are designating another person to grow it for you, OAR 333-008-0025(1) requires the patient to provide the OMMP with the address where his marijuana will be manufactured or produced; that is, a grow site address. The department will only register one grow site address per patient and will only register grow sites in Oregon.
This is not designated in the medical marijuana act. However, a person can only grow for a total of four (4) patients.
For each patient or caregiver for whom marijuana is being produced, a grower may possess up to six mature plants and up to twenty-four ounces of usable marijuana. For each patient, they may possess up to eighteen marijuana seedlings. A grower may produce marijuana for no more than four patients or designated primary caregivers.The patient, the designated primary caregiver, and the grower must have in his possession his OMMP identity card when transporting marijuana. A patient must have in his possession his OMMP identity card when using marijuana in a location other than the residence of the cardholder.
The OMMP is not a resource for the growing process and does not have information to give to patients. Presently, a medical marijuana dispensary or grower is the only legal source for marijuana plants or seeds in the state of Oregon.
If you are growing cannabis recreationally then you won’t need to obtain a marijuana grow license. It is legal to grow cannabis in your own home; however, you must receive permission from the landlord if you are a renter. It is important to keep all plants out of the view of the public eye. If you are 21 or older you can grow up to four plants per household. If you are caught growing more than 4 plants the consequences can include prison and a fine up to $125,000. Keep in mind distance from schools and religious institutions if and when growing cannabis.
To obtain a medical marijuana grow license in Oregon, a patient or caregiver must provide the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP)[efn_note]Oregon Medical Marijuana Program, 2020[/efn_note] the name and address of the grower. Once approved by the state a patient or caregiver can grow 6 mature plants and 12 immature plants. Curious about plant limitations? Read Oregon’s Plant Limits Chart[efn_note]Oregeon Health Authority, OMMP Plant Limits, 2020[/efn_note]. If you are growing cannabis for a patient in the state of Oregon and are a renter, you must still be approved through your landlord as well. A grower must be 21 or older and cannot grow for more than 8 patients at a time. To better understand your limits as a patient or caregiver read Oregon’s Reporting and Tracking Requirements[efn_note]Oregon Health Authority, Reporting and Tracking Requirements for Medical Marijuana Growers, 2020[/efn_note].
Laws are ever-evolving in the state of Oregon to help better the cannabis industry, so it’s important to understand what can and cannot harm you when growing cannabis. Because marijuana is legal for both medical and adult-use in Oregon there are no requirements to recreationally grow cannabis for yourself at home. However, if you are a patient growing for yourself, or a caregiver growing for others it’s important to follow all requirements and receive your permits through the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP)[efn_note]Oregon Medical Marijuana Program, 2020[/efn_note].
Recreational growing is allowed for adults over the age of 21. However, there are strict laws and requirements to follow to grow cannabis legally. A person can either be a designated grower for a patient or grow in their own home on private property.
The journey of cannabis in the pioneer state Oregon begins in the 1970s when it was the first state to decriminalize possession of small amounts of cannabis in 1973. In 1998 on Ballot Measure 67 the state legalized medical marijuana. As of 2014, adult-use and possession of cannabis became legal to sell to individuals 21 and older. Because cannabis is legal in Oregon marijuana grow licenses have been allowed medicinally and recreationally. Zoned Properties is going to give you the information you need to properly, legally, and safely grow your cannabis.
Because marijuana is legal for both medical and adult-use in Oregon there are no requirements to recreationally grow cannabis for yourself at home, staying within the laws.
Oregon has been a pioneer in the cannabis industry for businesses and people alike. It’s crucial to stay on top of the ever-changing laws in Oregon for your health and safety. Although Zoned Properties has broken down how to obtain a marijuana grow license for both medical and adult-use the requirements, fines, and distance from schools can change over time. If you are looking for more information on how to obtain a marijuana grow license in Oregon review the OMMP website[efn_note]Oregon Health Authority, Oregon Medical Marijuana Program, 2020[/efn_note].
$39 per month* (billed annually)
Pharmaceutical Products & Market.
Number of cannabis dispensaries in the U.S. as of 2020, by state.
U.S. legal medical marijuana patients 2020, by state.
* N/A for growsites.
Number of medical marijuana patients, caregivers, growers and grow sites registered in Oregon as of April 2021.
Pharmaceutical Products & Market.
Show sources information Show publisher information Use Ask Statista Research Service.
U.S. medical marijuana retail sales 2019-2024.
Register in seconds and access exclusive features.
Pharmaceutical Products & Market.
U.S. high quality marijuana prices per ounce in 2020 by state.
as of April 2021.
Pharmaceutical Products & Market.
This feature is limited to our corporate solutions. Please contact us to get started with full access to dossiers, forecasts, studies and international data.