See: 28-B M.R.S. §1501(2)(A)
See: 28-B M.R.S. §1502(1)(C) and (2)(C)
See: 22 M.R.S. §2423-D.
Maine is home to both a medical marijuana program and an adult use industry. The medical program serves patients, while Maine’s adult use industry services consumers 21 years of age and older. Adult use marijuana and medical marijuana may not be dispensed from the same facility. Unless they have changed their license type or have a separate retail facility, existing caregiver retail stores and medical marijuana dispensaries are limited to selling marijuana and marijuana products to patients with valid medical marijuana credentials in their possession.
The cost for a registry identification card varies depending on the number of plants being grown. At most, a registered caregiver may grow 30 mature plants or 500 square feet of mature plant canopy and 60 immature marijuana plants. Applications fees corresponding to total plant count with fees growing incrementally by $240.
Only medical patients can buy medical marijuana in Maine. Individuals who have received a patient certification from a medical professional may legally access medical marijuana from a registered caregiver or dispensary. Cards are available to Maine residents only.
Can I travel outside of Maine with marijuana?
The cost for a patient certification depends on the medical provider conducting the examination and issuing the certification.
The Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program provides patient cards to registered providers. In order to ensure patient access to the program, the State of Maine has never charged medical providers for the cards they provide to qualifying patients.
What are the laws on driving and marijuana use?
Who assists the Office of Marijuana Policy with rulemaking?
Finally, make sure the ownership of the plants is clear to law enforcement that may come across them. If you’re growing marijuana for personal use, the plant(s) must be tagged with a legible label that includes your name, driver’s license or state identification card number, and a notation that the plant(s) are being grown as authorized by law.
What are the rules around federal property?
How much marijuana can I possess?
See: 28-B M.R.S. §1501.
Who can buy medical marijuana?
If the parcel or tract of land you are growing on is owned by someone else, you must have their written permission to grow and care for your plants and include the landowners name on each plant’s label.
See: 28-B M.R.S. §1501(1)(B)
No, marijuana businesses are prohibited from (1) having drive-through pick-up facilities and/or (2) providing home delivery services.
No, there are no license caps for marijuana business licenses.
You may view a draft of the new regulations here:
WHEN: Monday, November 15 at 5:00 PM.
Once you have been approved for a marijuana business license, you must obtain any additional required permits. Permits which may be required include, but are not limited to:
Are there rules about where in town I can open a marijuana business?
WHEN YOU ARE READY, CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE APPLICATION.
A business license is required in order to operate a commercial marijuana business.
Access the application here.
The City of Lewiston allows marijuana businesses in specific zoning districts onl y . Be sure to speak with Planning and Code Enforcement before submitting an application to ensure that your location is in compliance with all zoning regulations and performance standards.
Those persons growing marijuana for their own personal use, and Registered Caregivers growing or manufacturing medical marijuana for their own use or for use by members of their household do not require a business license.
Additionally, there are restrictions based on proximity to incompatible uses, such as schools, parks, playgrounds, child care facilities, and dwellings in residential zoning districts. Please see the map below for more information.
When you are ready to proceed, please contact Planning and Code Enforcement at (207) 513-3125 or (207) 513-3007 TTY/TDD.
After meeting with Planning and Code Enforcement, you may pick up an application for a marijuana business license from the City Clerk. As part of the application, you will be required to submit the following attachments:
Read the full ordinance here.
For more information about State of Maine requirements, click here.
Do I need a business license?
Outdoor cultivation of marijuana, whether for personal or commercial purposes, is prohibited in Lewiston. Furthermore, marijuana businesses are not permitted to conduct outdoor sales or services of any kind.
If your business includes the preparation of goods containing marijuana that are intended for consumption, you must obtain the proper licenses from the City of Lewiston and the State of Maine. For more information, please contact Louie Lachance.
In December of 2019, Lewiston’s City Council passed an ordinance pertaining to Adult Use and Medical Marijuana. The purpose of Lewiston’s marijuana ordinance is to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of its residents and visitors by prescribing the manner in which the cultivation and distribution of marijuana can be conducted in the city.
Yes. Different types of marijuana businesses are allowed in different zoning districts. For example, while the "Community Business" zoning district allows marijuana retail stores, it prohibits marijuana cultivation, manufacturing, testing, and nurseries.
WHERE: 27 Pine Street, first floor City Council Chambers.
Planning and Code Enforcement will hold an industry stakeholders workshop to discuss potential changes to the marijuana business licensing regulations and to answer questions.
*Registered caregivers and medical marijuana assistants may provide home delivery services.
Applying for a License.
An adult may cultivate up to 3 flowering marijuana plants, 12 immature plants and unlimited seedlings. An adult may possess all of the marijuana produced by the plants.
Possession of up to 5 grams of marijuana concentrate is legal with no penalty, no incarceration and no fine. Use of marijuana in public will result in a $100 civil infraction.
Using a minor child to sell any amount of Hashish is a Class B Crime, subject to 10 years incarceration with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine of no more than $20,000.
Hash & Concentrates.
Furnishing any amount of Hashish when you have at least one prior conviction for a similar drug crime is a Class C crime, subject to five years imprisonment with a one year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine of no more than $5000.
Possessing any amount of Hashish is a Class D crime subject to 1 year’s imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $2000.
The Marijuana Legalization Act defines marijuana concentrate as the resin extracted from the cannabis plant including any derivative, mixture or compound including hashish.
An adult may possess marijuana paraphernalia.
An adult who violates these laws has committed a civil violation and may be fined up to $100.
Cultivation of 100-499 plants is a Class C crime punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Selling any amount of Hashish while within 1000 feet from a school or other designated safe zone is a Class B crime, subject to 10 years incarceration with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine of no more than $20,000.
Using a motor vehicle to furnish any amount of Hashish may result in your driver’s license being revoked for up to five years.
Use or possession of a firearm when selling any amount of Hashish is a Class B crime, subject to 10 years incarceration with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a fine of no more than $20,000.
Cultivation of 100-499 plants is a plants within 1000 feet of a school or school bus or combined with a prior conviction for a similar crime, use of a firearm or use of a minor is a Class B crime subject to a maximum sentence of 10 years imprisonment with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a $10,000 fine.
Sale of more than 1 – less than 20 lbs. to a minor or within 1,000 feet of a school or school bus or combined with a prior conviction for a similar crime, use of a firearm or use of a minor is a Class B crime punishable by a maximum sentence of 10 years imprisonment with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Importing any amount of Hashish into Maine from another state or country is a Class D crime subject to 1 year’s imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $2000.
Soliciting with, conspiring with, or enlisting the assistance of a minor child in furnishing any amount of Hashish is a Class C crime subject to five years imprisonment with a one year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment, and a fine of no more than $5000.
Cultivation of 6-99 plants is a Class D crime punishable by a maximum sentence of one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.
Cultivation of 500 or more plants is a Class B crime punishable by a maximum of sentence of 10 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $20,000.